Key criteria used in evaluating scholarship candidates. 
Goal: Fund strong future advocates
The successful candidate will:
have a demonstrated strong interest in and commitment to completely sustainable* agricultural and/or forestry practices,
be committed to protecting and preserving our natural resources and related economic and social conditions,
have strong communication skills and
possess leadership characteristics.
Sustainability embraces many disciplines, methodologies, and institutional practices. Therefore scholarship recipients are those who seek to be exposed to skill and knowledge building about changing environments and human health; energy, climate, and built environments; the power of culture and society; and ethics, economics, and public policy. (This is as described in University of Iowa’s Certificate of Sustainability overview.)
Eligible Scholarship recipients must be from one of the 10 Southeast Counties of the State of Minnesota (Rice, Goodhue, Wabasha, Steele, Dodge, Olmsted, Winona, Freeborn, Mower, Fillmore, and Houston counties) and attend educational institutions/programs in the five state area of Minnesota, Wisconsin, Iowa, South Dakota and North Dakota.
If you are interested in applying, download the application announcement. Contact information for additional questions can be found there.

2017 Scholarship Application-Students.pdf

* Sustainable agriculture and forestry is the efficient production of safe, high quality agricultural and forestry products, in a way that…
protects and improves the natural environment, the social and economic conditions of farmers and related operations, their employees and local communities, and safeguards the health and welfare of all farmed and natural species.

This year’s scholarship has been awarded.

The 2018 Scholarship Application

will be published on December 15, 2017

Applications will be due April 15, 2018

Recipients will be announced on June 1, 2018

More details on this page